Author Topic: Importing actors  (Read 6999 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Miguelh1020

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
Importing actors
« on: April 28, 2015, 04:34:01 am »
I've been having problem lately, when I import a movie info using the imdb [EN] plug in, I only get a short list of cast members. In the preferences, in the plugins menu, the option Download Full Credits is marked, next to it, the option except actors (from main page only) is not marked, nevertheless, I only get an abridged version. It also downloads the "also known as" field, even though it's not checked!

Offline Ivek23

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 1899
    • View Profile
Re: Importing actors
« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2015, 01:23:12 pm »
I've been having problem lately, when I import a movie info using the imdb [EN] plug in, I only get a short list of cast members. In the preferences, in the plugins menu, the option Download Full Credits is marked, next to it, the option except actors (from main page only) is not marked, nevertheless, I only get an abridged version.

IMDB Movie Plugin is not updated, so there is a known problem to pass Full Credits for Actors only from main page only. As long as the plugin will not be repaired, you can use the IMDB Movie (cast) script, which is located in the IMDB Movie Script for rating ... topic. This script should, at least I hope so, solve the current problem (Download Full Credits for Actors).

Ivek23
Win 7 32bit, 64bit   PVD v0.9.9.21


Offline Miguelh1020

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
Re: Importing actors
« Reply #2 on: May 08, 2015, 03:56:19 am »
ok help me out, please.
I think need the file Imdb Movie(cast).psf.
Now what to do?? I put it in the plugIns folder where Personal Video is installed. Is now installed? How do I run it?
Also, thanks   :-[

Offline Ivek23

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 1899
    • View Profile
Re: Importing actors
« Reply #3 on: May 08, 2015, 06:20:18 am »
I think need the file Imdb Movie(cast).psf.
Now what to do?? I put it in the plugIns folder where Personal Video is installed. Is now installed? How do I run it?

Yes, it is installed, but does not operate.

The reason that the script does not work is as follows, namely:

Since the script was installed in the Plugins folder (not working), the script should always be installed in the Scripts folder, it will then also be operated.

In your case, from Plugins folders just move the Imdb Movie(cast) script to in a Scripts folder.

When you do this, restart PVD, find the Imdb Movie(cast) script in Import folder and run it.


Now, the script sends the information which you wish to have.
Ivek23
Win 7 32bit, 64bit   PVD v0.9.9.21


Offline Miguelh1020

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
Re: Importing actors
« Reply #4 on: May 12, 2015, 04:41:58 am »
It DOES work. I have to run it first, and then run the other IMDB script to get everything else. It's kind of a turn down that you have to import twice, but it works perfectly. And thanks again for your help. I'll give it FIVE smiley faces!    :) :) :) :) :)

Offline Ivek23

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 1899
    • View Profile
Re: Importing actors
« Reply #5 on: May 12, 2015, 05:41:11 am »
And thanks again for your help. I'll give it FIVE smiley faces!    :) :) :) :) :)

Thanks.

It DOES work. I have to run it first, and then run the other IMDB script to get everything else. It's kind of a turn down that you have to import twice, but it works perfectly.

Make a batch file, like this here, maybe it will facilitate the work.
Ivek23
Win 7 32bit, 64bit   PVD v0.9.9.21


Offline Miguelh1020

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
Re: Importing actors
« Reply #6 on: May 26, 2015, 02:45:30 am »
Ivek, I gotta tell you. I haven't used a "batch file" because I "dont know" what that "is", but I've been using the script and now I noticed something bad that wasn't at first sight. The actors are imported, but they are saved with some occasional double comas ", ," beetween actor and actor, Now if I click an actor to add it to the actors data base, random things happen, like it adds a blank name actor, or adds info on some other actor (the one with his name right next to it, for example) What do you think?

Offline Ivek23

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 1899
    • View Profile
Re: Importing actors
« Reply #7 on: May 26, 2015, 06:59:23 am »
Ivek, I gotta tell you. I haven't used a "batch file" because I "dont know" what that "is", but I've been using the script and now I noticed something bad that wasn't at first sight. The actors are imported, but they are saved with some occasional double comas ", ," beetween actor and actor, Now if I click an actor to add it to the actors data base, random things happen, like it adds a blank name actor, or adds info on some other actor (the one with his name right next to it, for example) What do you think?

Error and solutions, and a revised Imdb Movie(cast) script it is available here:
http://www.videodb.info/forum_en/index.php/topic,3991.msg19064.html#msg19064
and
http://www.videodb.info/forum_en/index.php/topic,3991.msg19066.html#msg19066

The explanation for the "batch file" found here:
http://www.videodb.info/forum_en/index.php/topic,3980.msg19109.html#msg19109
Ivek23
Win 7 32bit, 64bit   PVD v0.9.9.21


Offline Miguelh1020

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
Re: Importing actors
« Reply #8 on: May 29, 2015, 03:02:27 am »
Excellent! Thanks a lot!

Offline Ivek23

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 1899
    • View Profile
Re: Importing actors
« Reply #9 on: May 29, 2015, 05:25:50 am »
Ivek23
Win 7 32bit, 64bit   PVD v0.9.9.21


Offline Ivek23

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 1899
    • View Profile
Re: Importing actors
« Reply #10 on: May 31, 2015, 12:38:13 pm »
Ivek, I gotta tell you. I haven't used a "batch file" because I "dont know" what that "is", but I've been using the script and now I noticed something bad that wasn't at first sight. The actors are imported, but they are saved with some occasional double comas ", ," beetween actor and actor, Now if I click an actor to add it to the actors data base, random things happen, like it adds a blank name actor, or adds info on some other actor (the one with his name right next to it, for example) What do you think?

Error and solutions, and a revised Imdb Movie(cast) script it is available here:
http://www.videodb.info/forum_en/index.php/topic,3991.msg19064.html#msg19064
and
http://www.videodb.info/forum_en/index.php/topic,3991.msg19066.html#msg19066

The explanation for the "batch file" found here:
http://www.videodb.info/forum_en/index.php/topic,3980.msg19109.html#msg19109

The corrected version of IMDB Movie (cast) Script is now here in the Imdb Movie Script for rating ...  topic.
Ivek23
Win 7 32bit, 64bit   PVD v0.9.9.21


Offline Miguelh1020

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
Re: Importing actors
« Reply #11 on: June 09, 2015, 05:37:13 pm »
The script Imdb Movie Script (cast) is working just fine for movies, but I don't think it's working for series.
In the main window for the series, it won't import actors. It can import actors for each episode though. The problem with this is that in the People section, actors won't be credited for appearing in these shows. Do you think there is a way around it?

Offline Ivek23

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 1899
    • View Profile
Re: Importing actors
« Reply #12 on: June 10, 2015, 09:22:39 am »
The script Imdb Movie Script (cast) is working just fine for movies, but I don't think it's working for series.
In the main window for the series, it won't import actors. It can import actors for each episode though. The problem with this is that in the People section, actors won't be credited for appearing in these shows. Do you think there is a way around it?

Yeah, I know for this problem, because the series cast have a different source code page such as, the source code page for the movies cast.

The script for the series is ready, but I still have it tested. When the script work properly, then I will script adding in the next reply.
Ivek23
Win 7 32bit, 64bit   PVD v0.9.9.21


Offline Ivek23

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 1899
    • View Profile
Re: Importing actors
« Reply #13 on: June 10, 2015, 04:02:11 pm »
Yeah, I know for this problem, because the series cast have a different source code page such as, the source code page for the movies cast.

The script for the series is ready, but I still have it tested. When the script work properly, then I will script adding in the next reply.

Now - a Imdb Movie(cast-series) script for the series and
Imdb Movie(cast-episode) script for the episode is ready.


Scripts is attached and you can find it here:
http://www.videodb.info/forum_en/index.php/topic,3282.msg16390.html#msg16390


Ivek23
Win 7 32bit, 64bit   PVD v0.9.9.21


Offline Miguelh1020

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
Re: Importing actors
« Reply #14 on: June 11, 2015, 03:25:14 am »
Thank you very much Ivek! I got the new update, and it seems to be working! If I notice anything off I'll post it :)

Offline Ivek23

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 1899
    • View Profile
Re: Importing actors
« Reply #15 on: June 11, 2015, 05:50:23 am »
Thank you very much Ivek! I got the new update, and it seems to be working! If I notice anything off I'll post it :)

Thank you, the feedback is welcome.
Ivek23
Win 7 32bit, 64bit   PVD v0.9.9.21


Offline Miguelh1020

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
Re: Importing actors
« Reply #16 on: June 19, 2015, 01:45:36 am »
ok, I noticed something. I guess is like a "minor detail" and it happens randomly. I can't really tell by which means, but it seems that, when I add an actor to the People section, his (or her) role in those series imported with Imdb Movie Script(cast-series) appears with a big chunk of blank spaces "                                            "
So, for example, Alfred Hitchcock in Alfred Hitcock Presents says "                                            Himself - Host (268 episodes 1955-1962)"
You can edit it. The detail is merely aestetic. It doesn't appear to be information lost

Offline Ivek23

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 1899
    • View Profile
Re: Importing actors
« Reply #17 on: June 19, 2015, 07:01:08 am »
So, for example, Alfred Hitchcock in Alfred Hitcock Presents says "                                            Himself - Host (268 episodes 1955-1962)"
You can edit it. The detail is merely aestetic. It doesn't appear to be information lost

Imdb Movie(cast-series) script
v 0.1.1.2

The above-mentioned error is now it corrected.


Script is attached and you can find it here:
http://www.videodb.info/forum_en/index.php/topic,3282.msg16390.html#msg16390
Ivek23
Win 7 32bit, 64bit   PVD v0.9.9.21


Offline Ivek23

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 1899
    • View Profile
Re: Importing actors
« Reply #18 on: June 21, 2015, 06:15:30 am »
Imdb Movie(cast-episode) Script
v 0.1.1.2

The same problem as in the Imdb Movie(cast-series) script, beauty fault is corrected.

Script is attached and you can find it here:
http://www.videodb.info/forum_en/index.php/topic,3282.msg16390.html#msg16390
Ivek23
Win 7 32bit, 64bit   PVD v0.9.9.21


Offline Miguelh1020

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
Re: Importing actors
« Reply #19 on: June 26, 2015, 03:19:56 am »
It seems to be working fine. Thanks!

 

anything