Author Topic: Can I import from MyMovies  (Read 17241 times)

Offline junk_struc

• User
    • View Profile
Can I import from MyMovies
« on: November 11, 2009, 12:06:43 pm »

Hi,

I am just new to J River and have imported most of my media into mymovies.  it was quite a bit of effort to get everything pretty much correct (very poor naming of directories/files) and don't want to redo it.  Can pvd use the mymovies.xml files as a starting point?

Thanks
Craig

PS Without meaning to be rude on the Pvd forum, has anyone used both mymovies and Jriver and subsequently moved to pvd and j river with no regrets?

Offline rick.ca

• Global Moderator
  • "I'm willing to shoot you!"
    • View Profile
Re: Can I import from MyMovies
« Reply #1 on: November 11, 2009, 12:31:13 pm »
Welcome, junk.

If you've got the data in mymovies, then I assume you've got in MC as well. If so, you can copy the data directly from MC to a spreadsheet (Excel or equivalent) and import that. Just create a details view in MC with all the fields you want to include. You can then copy & paste directly from the view to the spreadsheet. If you haven't done so already, use MC's file rename utility to clean up your filenames, and include the filename in the import. That way, you get all the data and a perfect match to the physical media files.

I don't know of anyone who has moved from mymovies to PVD. But I would be shocked and dismayed to hear of anyone moving the other direction. ;)

Offline junk_struc

• User
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 14, 2009, 11:09:30 am »
i did a quick export from mc with the names (and year).  some of the names were still ambiguous for pvd and thus manual intervention required.  are there some more foolproof fields from mymovies that i can guarrantee the same result in pvd.