Author Topic: question re: id range  (Read 2905 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline CAD

  • Power User
  • ****
  • Posts: 168
  • I've got my eye on you!
    • View Profile
question re: id range
« on: November 13, 2009, 12:13:53 pm »
Hi Nostra,

Can you please tell me what the id range is.

i am trying to convince a friend to convert from movie collector to pvd ( a noble cause indeed ) :)
he has over 3000 disks and uses the id no to catalogue them.

eg 1-1000 is tv shows 5000-10000 is movies
His numbering system goes up to 10,000

I imported all his movies and posters, but

When i imported the id No, i noticed that it imported 4 digits.
is this the limit to the no of entries ie. 9999 ?

thanks heaps
three fingered salutation

Offline nostra

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2852
    • View Profile
    • Personal Video Database
Re: question re: id range
« Reply #1 on: November 14, 2009, 01:45:58 am »
It is from 0 to 2147483647

Thx for promoting PVD, by the way ;)

Quote
When i imported the id No, i noticed that it imported 4 digits.
is this the limit to the no of entries ie. 9999 ?

1. Maybe you just do not see the 5th digit? (make the field bigger in the Skin file)
2. Maybe there is a problem with the import?
Gentlemen, you can’t fight in here! This is the War Room!

Offline CAD

  • Power User
  • ****
  • Posts: 168
  • I've got my eye on you!
    • View Profile
Re: question re: id range
« Reply #2 on: November 14, 2009, 03:54:26 am »
thanks - further investigation needed  :)
three fingered salutation

Offline CAD

  • Power User
  • ****
  • Posts: 168
  • I've got my eye on you!
    • View Profile
Re: question re: id range
« Reply #3 on: November 18, 2009, 01:48:47 am »
Hi Nostra,

Quote
1. Maybe you just do not see the 5th digit? (make the field bigger in the Skin file)

It was skin length.
Changed this and can see 5 digit id.
Is there a way to make this (field lengths) dynamic based on the amount of data?
three fingered salutation

Offline nostra

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2852
    • View Profile
    • Personal Video Database
Re: question re: id range
« Reply #4 on: November 19, 2009, 04:17:11 am »
Quote
Is there a way to make this (field lengths) dynamic based on the amount of data?

You could try the autosize="true" parameter, but the control can not get bigger than the column it is in.
Gentlemen, you can’t fight in here! This is the War Room!

Offline CAD

  • Power User
  • ****
  • Posts: 168
  • I've got my eye on you!
    • View Profile
Re: question re: id range
« Reply #5 on: November 19, 2009, 09:52:45 am »
cool - i'll give it a go
three fingered salutation