Author Topic: Mass editor issues  (Read 2193 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline AimHere

  • Power User
  • ****
  • Posts: 202
    • View Profile
Mass editor issues
« on: October 28, 2013, 06:20:16 pm »
Hi,

I finally upgraded my PVD to the 1.x version, and while it's working well enough, I'm really missing the way the "old" Mass Editor used to work. When I add a bunch of movies off a DVD-R with the file scanner, I need to set the values of several fields on all of them. With the 0.9 version, with all of the movies selected in the list, I could click the edit button on the toolbar to get the multi-editor in its own window, and could change the value of multiple fields all at once. In 1.x, the Mass Editor only lets me set the value of a single field at a time, and I have to laboriously choose the field from the drop-down fields list (which is way too small for the number of fields, by the way) , choose the value from the values list, and click the green "Apply" button to apply the changes, then do it all over again for each and every field I want to update. The old method was MUCH faster and easier. Why even call it a "Mass Editor" if you can't edit everything en-masse?  :P

ALSO: There is a pretty big bug in the Mass Editor right now. If you select a Field, select a Value, click the "Apply" button, then choose another field, the "Value" box retains the value from the previously-chosen field, which is totally inappropriate for the newly-chosen field. If you accidentally click the "Apply" button, the inappropriate value is written to the record, and you then have to edit the record to remove or correct it.

For example, say I have a "Location" called "Storage boxes in closet". I select a number of movies, open the Mass Editor, choose the field "Location", then choose "Storage boxes in closet" from the Values dropdown. Okay so far. Then, I choose the field "Media Type" (perhaps intending to set it to "Retail DVD", let's say), get distracted for a moment, and click "Apply" accidentally (forgetting I hadn't actually chosen a new value). Now I have a movie with "Storage boxes in closet" as a "Media Type", and have to fix it manually.

Furthermore, if the more recently-chosen field happens to be a "list" field (e.g. "Genre", "Tags", etc.), then clicking "Apply" has the additional effect of adding a new (inappropriate) value to that list, and you have to go into "Preferences/Lists" to delete it.

What needs to happen is, any time a new field is chosen from the "Field" drop-down list, the "Value" box should be cleared out so it doesn't retain the previous value.

Aimhere

Offline nostra

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2852
    • View Profile
    • Personal Video Database
Re: Mass editor issues
« Reply #1 on: October 28, 2013, 10:45:15 pm »
Quote
What needs to happen is, any time a new field is chosen from the "Field" drop-down list, the "Value" box should be cleared out so it doesn't retain the previous value.

OK, I'll do this.

The old mass editor could only change a subset of fields that could fit in a window. Implementing such functionality for all fields, as it is now in version 1, would be not so great.
Gentlemen, you can’t fight in here! This is the War Room!

Offline AimHere

  • Power User
  • ****
  • Posts: 202
    • View Profile
Re: Mass editor issues
« Reply #2 on: November 03, 2013, 04:37:22 pm »
The old mass editor could only change a subset of fields that could fit in a window. Implementing such functionality for all fields, as it is now in version 1, would be not so great.

I understand that it would be difficult, if not impossible, to fit all of the available fields into a single window or dialog box. But, perhaps you could bring back the "old" mass editor (with its previous subset of the fields) as an option that could be selected in Preferences? Very rarely, if ever, do I need to mass-edit any fields outside of the "core" ones that were present in the old mass editor.

Aimhere

Offline nostra

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2852
    • View Profile
    • Personal Video Database
Re: Mass editor issues
« Reply #3 on: November 03, 2013, 09:25:43 pm »
I'll consider adding the old dialog in future versions.
Gentlemen, you can’t fight in here! This is the War Room!

Offline afrocuban

  • Power User
  • ****
  • Posts: 163
    • View Profile
Re: Mass editor issues
« Reply #4 on: November 03, 2013, 10:20:30 pm »
My 2c to both suggestions

Offline AimHere

  • Power User
  • ****
  • Posts: 202
    • View Profile
Re: Mass editor issues
« Reply #5 on: December 01, 2013, 06:48:42 pm »
Thanks again, nostra.